Computer Classroom PCs – Stay Secure

From 22nd January 2016, you’ll be able to lock the computer classroom pc you’re working at.  We appreciate that when you’re working and studying, you may wish to pop away for a short break, and you need the ability to secure the workstation you’re using (press CTRL ALT DEL, then ENTER).

The primary reason for this is to address security concerns the student community had raised with us – as during longer study or work sessions, they may wish to pop out for a quick break, and need the ability to secure their work/personal data. As per the current arrangements, PCs will continue to auto log off after 30 minute periods of inactivity (and now will also auto log off after being locked for 30 minutes).

Please note that all classroom pcs will continue to be configured to auto log-off after 30 minutes of inactivity (whether locked or not).

A different setting will be configured for the teaching PC in each classroom only – whereby, if they are running an application in full screen mode e.g.PowerPoint, the PC won’t auto log off.

This entry was posted in Undergraduates, Postgraduates, Staff. Bookmark the permalink.